ACMA Newsletter Advertising
Contact Mary Vinzant at 602-258-5786 or
Az-Management is a bi-monthly publication of the Arizona City/County Management Association.
Editor: Liisa Laikko
Your comments, suggestions and news contributions are welcome. Please email your contributions to:
Telephone: 602-258-5786
ACMA to Offer Two Scholarships to Harvard Program
Arizona City/County Management Association in partnership with Arizona Public Service Company and PinnacleOne will offer two full scholarships this year to ACMA members for the Senior Executives in State and Local Government Program at Harvard University's John F. Kennedy School of Government. Read more
ACMA Honors Terry Ellis with 2009 DeBolske Award
ACMA recognized Terry Ellis, retired City Manager for the City of Peoria, as the recipient of the 2009 John J. DeBolske Professional Excellence Award. The Award was created in 1997 to recognize City/County Managers who demonstrate the highest level of professional excellence in local government and who have made life contributions in serving the profession. This award is the highest honor that ACMA may bestow upon a Full Member. Read more
ACMA Honors Tami Ryall with 2009 Connolly Award
This year's Catherine F. Connolly award was presented to Tami Ryall, Assistant Town Manager for Gilbert. The Catherine F. Connolly Outstanding City/County Manager Award, recognizes an outstanding assistant city or county manager who has demonstrated exemplary service to their organization, to the community, to local government and to ACMA. The namesake of the award, Catherine F. Connolly, was the Executive Director of the League of Arizona Cities and Towns for seven years and served 20+ years as the Deputy Director. Read more
ACMA Honors Dr. Robert Denhardt with Associate's Award for Excellence in Leadership
ACMA presented this year's Associate's Award for Excellence in Leadership to Dr. Denhardt, Director of the ASU School of Public Affairs and the ASU Lincoln Professor of Leadership and Ethics. This award is specifically designed to recognize associate members who contribute to the profession through their organization at an associate member rather than the CEO level. Read more
ACMA Honors Esser and Andrews Scholarship Recipients
During the Conference in Sedona, ACMA honored Daniel Ortiz-Hernandez as the 2009 Esser Scholar. Daniel is currently attending Graduate School at Arizona State University for his Masters in Public Administration. The Esser Scholarship is a $2,000 award given to a student who is already working full time for a local government. Read more
2009 ACMA/PBS & J Golf Tournament Results
ACMA extends a special thanks to PBS & J for sponsoring this year's Winter Golf Tournament in Sedona.

2009 ACMA/PBS & J Tournament Champions:

1st Place Team
Grant Anderson, Willdan Companies
Spencer Isom, El Mirage
Tom Flaeen, PinnacleOne
Randal Simon, IQM2
Read more
Ethics Feature: Focus on the Fundamentals
Reprinted with permission from the January 2009 issue of Public Management (PM) magazine published by ICMA, the premier local government leadership and management organization, Washington, D.C.

At the beginning of this new year, local government leaders may well face significant challenges in delivering ethical, transparent democracy. Limited financial resources at every level of government are likely to force difficult choices about services, commitments, and investments in the future. Read more
ICMA 2009 Conference Message

Since last fall, ICMA's 2009 Conference Host and Planning Committees have been hard at work preparing a relevant, informative and enjoyable annual conference for the membership. Like you, all of us are wrestling with the reality of the economic times and the inherent pressures associated with attending a national conference, especially one held out of the country. With training and development funds usually the first thing cut when budgets have to be trimmed, how can we justify attending the conference in Montreal? Read more
Member Profile: Tory Schlievert
Management Assistant
Town of Oro Valley

Where are you originally from?
I am originally from Des Moines, Iowa but have been in Arizona since I started my undergraduate degree at the University of Arizona in 1999.

Why did you decide to pursue a career in local government?
I can't think of a more challenging and fulfilling profession that requires you to use all of your skills to solve complex problems often with little resources. In addition, my experience as an ICMA Local Government Management Fellow after graduate school helped to focus my interests on local government management. Read more
ACMA Members on the Move
Do you have a recent promotion or transition that you would like to announce? This new section of the newsletter recognizes members who have recently been promoted or have changed organizations. If you would like your name to be featured in this section of the newsletter, please contact Liisa Laikko at 602-258-5786 or email:
New members
Mike Townsend, Deputy County Manager, Coconino County
Patrick "Pat" McCourt, City Manager, City of Willcox
David Kincaid, City Manager, City of Safford
Susan Daluddung, Deputy City Manager, City of Peoria

Kyla Allen, Executive Assistant to the City Manager, City of Cottonwood
Dennis Dickerson, Environmental Planning Coordinator, Pima Association of Governments
Nicole Dailey, Assistant to the City Manger, City of Maricopa
Matthew S. Muckler, Assistant to the Town Manager, Town of Buckeye
Suzanne H. Sombrero, Management Analyst, Town of Sahuarita

Joseph Brehm, Student, Arizona State University
Benjamin Bitter, Student, Arizona State University
Edith Baltierrez-Pedregon, Arizona State University
ACMA Board of Directors
Pam Kavanaugh
Assistant City Manager
City of Glendale

George Pettit
Immediate Past President
Town Manager
Town of Gilbert

Gilbert Davidson
Town Manager
Town of Marana

Cynthia Seelhammer
Deputy City Manager
City of Phoenix

Rachel Hut
Associate Representative
Management Assistant II
City of Glendale

Lloyd Harrell
ACMA/ICMA Range Rider
Retired City Manager
City of Chandler

Tom Belshe
Deputy Director
League of Arizona Cities and Towns
James Jayne
County Manager
Navajo County

David Andrews
Town Manager
Town of Oro Valley

Robert Flatley
City Manager
City of Coolidge

Jim Thompson
City Manager
City of Casa Grande

Joshua Wright
Associate Representative
Assistant to the Manager
Town of Marana

Mike Hutchinson
ACMA/ICMA Range Rider
Retired City Manager
City of Mesa
Arizona City/County Management Association
1820 W. Washington Street, Phoenix, AZ 85007   •   Phone: (602) 258-5786   •   Fax: (602) 253-3874   •