ACMA Newsletter Advertising
Contact Mary Vinzant at 602-258-5786 or
Az-Management is a bi-monthly publication of the Arizona City/County Management Association.
Editor: Liisa Laikko
Your comments, suggestions and news contributions are welcome. Please email your contributions to:
Telephone: 602-258-5786
ACMA to Offer Two Scholarships to Harvard Program
Arizona City/County Management Association will offer two full scholarships this year to ACMA members for the Senior Executives in State and Local Government Program at Harvard University's John F. Kennedy School of Government. Read more
ACMA Recognizes Two New Life Members
Our first new life member, Terry Ellis, joined ACMA in 1997 shortly after becoming City Manager of Peoria and was very active in the association until his retirement in June of 2008. Terry was the 2009 recipient of ACMA's highest honor, the DeBolske Award. Read more
ACMA Honors Mark Pentz with 2010 DeBolske Award
The John J. DeBolske Professional Excellence Award, was created in 1997 to recognize City/County Managers who demonstrate the highest level of professional excellence in local government and who have made life contributions in serving the profession. This award is the highest honor that ACMA may bestow upon a member.

The namesake of the award, Jack DeBolske, was the Executive Director of the League of Arizona Cities and Towns for 40 years.

This year, ACMA recognized Mark Pentz, Chandler City Manager, as the recipient of the 2010 John J. DeBolske Professional Excellence Award for his exemplary service to the City of Chandler, the profession and our association. Read more
ACMA Honors Cynthia Seelhammer with 2010 Connolly Award
The Catherine F. Connolly Outstanding City/County Manager Award recognizes an outstanding assistant city or county manager who has demonstrated exemplary service to their organization, the community, local government and ACMA. The namesake of the award, Catherine F. Connolly, was the Executive Director of the League of Arizona Cities and Towns for eight years and served 20+ years as the Deputy Director.

This year's recipient of the Catherine F. Connolly Award was Cynthia Seelhammer, Deputy City Manager for Phoenix. Read more
ACMA Honors Joshua Wright with Associate's Award for Excellence in Leadership
Introduced two years ago, the Associate's Award for Excellence in Leadership is designed to recognize associate ACMA members who contribute to the profession through their organization at an associate level rather than the CEO level.

This year's Associate's Award for Excellence in Leadership winner was Josh Wright, Assistant to the Town Manager in Marana. Read more
ACMA Honors Esser Scholarship Recipient
During the Conference in Sedona, ACMA honored Aaron Adams as the 2010 Esser Scholar. Aaron is currently attending Graduate School at Arizona State University for his Masters in Public Administration. The Esser Scholarship is a $2,000 award given to a student who is already working for a local government.
Career Compass No. 8: Leading From the Middle
Career Compass Columns are reprinted with the permission of Dr. Frank Benest

In this installment of Career Compass, Dr. Benest offers suggestions for how mid-level professionals can help lead the organization, even though they aren't senior management. Read more
Ethics Feature: What Price Political Neutrality?
Reprinted with permission from the October 2009 issue of Public Management (PM) magazine published by ICMA, the premier local government leadership and management organization, located in Washington, D.C.

No city manager should take an active part in politics. That clear, succinct statement of the profession's bedrock principle of political neutrality was expressed in the first ICMA Code of Ethics. As the profession evolved to include city and county managers, assistants, and professionals at all levels, the statement of the principle changed as well. Read more
ACMA Members on the Move
Grady Miller, Deputy Community Services Director, who is a long time ACMA Associate member and former ACMA Board Member and Arizona Municipal Management Assistants Association President, has been appointed as Town Manager of Narragansett, Rhode Island. Congratulations to Grady on your new appointment!

Do you have a recent promotion or transition that you would like to announce? This new section of the newsletter recognizes members who have recently been promoted or have changed organizations. If you would like your name to be featured in this section of the newsletter, please contact Liisa Laikko at 602-258-5786 or email:
New Members
George Kolb, Interim Assistant City Manager, City of Surprise
Ralph Velez, City Manager, City of San Luis

Keith Betsuie, Tribal Liaison-Intergovernmental Relations, City of Maricopa
Bruce Washington, Sr., Manager, Information Technology, City of Sierra Vista
Steven Patrick Methvin, Assistant to the Mayor, City of Glendale

Phillip A. Barr, Full time Student, Arizona State University
Stacy Hettmansperger, Full Time Student, Arizona State University
Amy Whatley, Full Time Student, Arizona State University
ACMA Board of Directors
James Jayne
County Manager
Navajo County

Pam Kavanaugh
Immediate Past President
Assistant City Manager
City of Glendale

Robert Flatley
City Manager
City of Coolidge

Carl Swenson
City Manager
City of Peoria

Rachel Hut
Associate Representative
Management Assistant II
City of Glendale

Lloyd Harrell
ACMA/ICMA Range Rider
Retired City Manager
City of Chandler

Tom Belshe
Deputy Director
League of Arizona Cities and Towns
Gilbert Davidson
Town Manager
Town of Marana

Julie Ayers
County Administrator
Yavapai County

Cynthia Seelhammer
Deputy City Manager
City of Phoenix

Jim Thompson
City Manager
City of Casa Grande

Joshua Wright
Associate Representative
Assistant to the Manager
Town of Marana

Mike Hutchinson
ACMA/ICMA Range Rider
Retired City Manager
City of Mesa
Arizona City/County Management Association
1820 W. Washington Street, Phoenix, AZ 85007   •   Phone: (602) 258-5786   •   Fax: (602) 253-3874   •