ACMA Newsletter Advertising
Contact Samantha Womer at 602-258-5786 or
Az-Management is a bi-monthly publication of the Arizona City/County Management Association.
Editor: Samantha Womer
Your comments, suggestions and news contributions are welcome. Please email your contributions to:
Telephone: 602-258-5786
ACMA Summer Conference July 19 – 21, 2017
The 2017 ACMA Summer Conference will be back at the Dove Mountain Resort in Marana, July 19 - 21.

We hope that conference attendees will find value and knowledge in the sessions put together by the Conference Planning Committee. Some of the conference features include pre-conference lunch and a speaker from Waymo about self-driving vehicles, a manager's game show and our inspiring keynote speaker Matthew Jones. We also hope you take the opportunity to introduce yourself to someone that you do not know!

Online registration closes Thursday, July 6.

For the full agenda and registration information, please point your browser here.
ASU Andrews/Esser Applications
The ACMA Andrews Internship Program continues its 17th year in 2018! The ACMA Andrews Scholarship includes an internship component in addition to a monetary award. The purpose of this internship program is to provide the Andrews Scholar with professional experience and training in an Arizona city or town with a population of less than 50,000 or a county with a population of less than 200,000 (according to the 2010 census). In addition, it is hoped that the program will be an outstanding opportunity for Arizona's small and mid-sized cities, towns, and counties to benefit from the employment of a student enrolled at Arizona State University, Grand Canyon University, Northern Arizona University, or the University of Arizona. Read more
ACMA & ICMA Partner to Offer One Scholarship to ICMA Conference in San Antonio, Texas
ACMA and ICMA have partnered to offer one scholarship to the 103rd Annual ICMA Conference in San Antonio, Texas, October 22 – 25. The scholarship recipient will receive a complimentary conference registration from ICMA and ACMA will reimburse the recipient's travel expenses up to $1,000. Read more
Arizona Forward's 37th Annual Environmental Excellence Awards – Call for Entries!
Arizona Forward is pleased to issue a formal call for entries for the 2017 Environmental Excellence Program presented in partnership with SRP. Click here for further details on the awards and how to apply.
Public Involvement: Your Opportunity To Brag
Does your community have an example of some creative listening or public engagement process that others would find instructive? From on-site gatherings to on-line initiatives, we're looking for up to six communities willing to briefly "show & tell" as part of a special workshop, From Conflict to Conversation: Practical Skills for Better Public Dialogue, to be held on Wednesday, August 22 in conjunction with the League of Arizona Cities and Towns Annual Conference in Oro Valley.

To express interest (or for more information), please contact workshop facilitator Matt Lehrman at by July 7 with a short description of the initiative you'd like to feature and the contact information for the presenter. The selection of presenters will be confirmed by July 14.
ASU Marvin Andrews Update
The 10th Cohort of the Marvin Andrews Fellowship received their degrees at the College Convocation at Wells Fargo Arena on Thursday, May 11. Kristen Ayers, Dominic "Blaise" Caudill, Dominic DeCono and Dorian Sanchez Ruiz received their Masters in Public Administration degrees. Kristen completed her second year field internship with Surprise, Dominic is finishing up with Peoria, Blaise is completing his Goodyear internship, but starting full time with the City of Mesa as a Council Assistant, and Dorian wrapped up with Gilbert, and is relocating to San Antonio, Texas to serve in their Management Fellowship Program. All four were deeply involved with the ASU ICMA Student Chapter while attending ASU. Dorian also received recognition as Outstanding College Graduate, and Blaise as the school's Outstanding Graduate. All four have done well in their coursework and are excellent examples of the character and commitment of the next generation of public managers. Read more
    ICMA Annual Conference
Read more
ACMA Membership
Point your browser here to get more information on ACMA membership.
Getting Social with ACMA
Follow ACMA on Twitter to receive up-to-date information!

Click here to start connecting with ACMA.

For even more information on cities and towns, follow the League of Arizona Cities and Towns, AZ Cities @ Work and ICMA's Life, Well Run.
ACMA Members on the Move
Do you have a recent promotion or transition that you would like to announce? This section of the newsletter recognizes members who have recently been promoted or have changed organizations. If you would like your name to be featured in this section of the newsletter, please contact Samantha Womer at 602-258-5786 or email:
New Members
Eric Duthie, Town Manager, Town of Tusayan
Brad Lundahl, Government Relations Director, City of Scottsdale
Andrea Sirois, Management Intern/Graduate Student, Town of Oro Valley/University of Arizona

The ACMA Board of Directors have approved the following applications for membership to ACMA:

Full Member
Stephen Romero, Assistant Town Manager, Town of Marana

Associate Members:
Briana Decker-Cortinas, Senior Policy Advisor, City of Peoria
Kim Musselman, Special Assistant to County Manager, Coconino County
Paige Peterson, Finance Director, Navajo County

ACMA members have 10 business days from today to file written objections concerning any applicant's qualifications for qualifications for membership. If no objections are filed, these individuals will automatically become members upon receipt of their membership dues for the year. Should you have any questions or comments about the information in this report, please do not hesitate to contact me.
ACMA Board of Directors
Mike Townsend
Deputy County Manager
Coconino County

Shane Dille
Deputy City Manager
City of Flagstaff

Milton Dohoney
Assistant City Manager
City of Phoenix

Bryant Powell
City Manager
City of Apache Junction

Teri Bankhead
Associate Representative
Assistant to the Town Manager
Town of Sahuarita

Mike Letcher
ACMA/ICMA Senior Advisor
Retired City Manager
City of Tucson

Tom Belshe
Deputy Director
League of Arizona Cities and Towns
Nicole Lance
Immediate Past President
Assistant City Manager
City of Surprise

Justin Clifton
City Manager
City of Sedona

Ian McGaughey
Town Manager
Town of Clifton

Brent Stockwell
Assistant City Manager
City of Scottsdale

Steven Turner
Associate Representative
Senior Management Analyst
City of Casa Grande

Pat McDermott
ACMA/ICMA Senior Advisor
Retired Assistant City Manager
City of Chandler
Arizona City/County Management Association
1820 W. Washington Street, Phoenix, AZ 85007   •   Phone: (602) 258-5786   •   Fax: (602) 253-3874   •